2020-2021 Season Finale Concert

April 17, 2021 at 8:00 pm

Mozart:  Symphony No. 31 in D Major, K. 297 “Paris”

Saint-Saëns:  Piano Concerto No. 2 in G minor, Op. 22

        Daniel Hsu, piano

Tchaikovsky:  Suite No. 4 in G Major, Op. 61 “Mozartiana”


Mozart crafted his finely detailed and powerful Paris Symphony as a work to show off the qualities of an orchestra in technique and discipline.  Daniel Hsu, 2017 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition Bronze Medalist, dazzles in Saint-Saëns’ virtuosic Second Piano Concerto, a masterpiece written in just 17 days. With its romantic ardour and overlapping eras, Tchaikovsky’s Suite No. 4 “Mozartiana” is an affectionate tribute to the composer who had been his life-long model.