2022/2023 Opening Night Concert

Mussorgsky: Night on Bald Mountain

Saint-Saens: Cello Concerto No. 1 in A minor, Op. 33 ▪ Nicholas Canellakis, cello

Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 in E minor, Op. 27

Mussorgsky’s spell-binding Night on Bald Mountain tells a musical picture of witches and spirits cavorting at midnight in an infernal dance. Cellist Nicholas Canellakis performs the charmingly effervescent First Cello Concerto of Saint-Saëns. Epic in scale yet intimate in mood, Rachmaninoff’s Second Symphony is one of the best loved in the repertoire. Its hauntingly beautiful central theme is most exquisite by a composer noted for his luscious melodies, and ends this concert on a rush of romantic elation.


Oct 01 2022

More Info

Purchase Tickets


Charles W. Eisemann Center
2351 Performance Drive Richardson, Texas 75082
Purchase Tickets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *