Rodrigo, Ravel & Stravinsky

Villa-Lobos: Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5
Rodrigo: Concierto de Aranjuez
     Celil Refik Kaya, guitar
Stravinsky: Suite No. 2 for Small Orchestra
Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin

Heitor Villa-Lobos’ exquisite Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5, the best-known of the nine Bachianas suites, calls for soprano soloist to sing both text and a word-less vocalise while accompanied by cello ensemble. Guitarist Celil Refik Kaya performs Spanish composer Rodrigo’s moving and lush Concierto de Aranjuez. Ravel’s bittersweet tribute, Le Tombeau de Couperin, honors others who burned bright and died young. Beyond the obvious charm, wit and infectious rhythmic drive, Suite No. 2 for Small Orchestra offers a premonition of Stravinsky’s approaching Neo-Classical period and represents musical humor at its best.


Nov 07 2020


8:00 pm

More Info

Purchase Tickets


Charles W. Eisemann Center
2351 Performance Drive Richardson, Texas 75082
Purchase Tickets